Club logo

Learning bridge Results Pianola Members

The TBA Congress is coming!

The TBA Congress is on the weekend of 29-30 June 2019. There are events for everyone from novice to open. In particular the novice event is a great opportunity for newer players to play in a congress event against players of similar experience.

Online entries are now open for:

Event details are available at the links above, or see the noticeboard in the club rooms.

President's Report May 2019

Club Survey

Thanks to the 102 members who have already completed and returned their Club survey forms. We still have a few weeks to go, so if you haven’t yet returned your survey, please do so as we are receiving important feedback from Club members.

Slow Play

As a result of the feedback received so far, slow play has been recognised as an area which needs attention.

Consequently, effective immediately, bidding for the last Board MUST have commenced with no less than 3 minutes remaining in the round. This means, that if there is not an opening bid on the table when the 3 minute alarm sounds, the Board cannot be played, and both pairs will receive an average score.

Directors will be proactively monitoring the time situation, and you can notify the Director if you feel that you have been disadvantaged by the slow play of your opponents.

Supervised Sessions

Supervised sections are available on Tuesday mornings and Thursday evenings provided there are sufficient pairs to make it worth while (at least 3 tables). Wednesday evening continues to be a fully supervised session.

Committee Meeting Outcomes

At the Committee Meeting on May 7th, John Grosvenor was appointed as our technical support person. He will be assisting the Committee across a range of areas, particularly with regard to making our web site more helpful and informative to members.

The State Teams (as selected by the Selection Panel) were ratified. They are :

  • Open : Jane & Robert Tyson, Andrew & Sandra Richman, John Bailey & Hilton Francis
  • Womens : Dallas Cooper & Maruta Boyd, Maria Gibbs & Julia Corr, Anna Egan & Julie Rhodes
  • Seniors : Valda Badcock & Judy Mann, Fiona Hicky & Alaine Macmorran, Sue Martin & Sue Falkingham

We wish all the teams the best of luck for the ANC which will be held in the latter part of July in Melbourne.

The “Southern Teams of 3” event will be held on September 11th, not in August as previously advertised.

New members welcomed to the Club in May are : Yolande and Marc Boost, Veronica Sakell, Diaine Clark and Lynne Marszalek.

The Committee also approved the purchase of an additional 2500 boards to enable the TFob to be self sufficient with regard to boards, and not have to use those boards which we have dealt for TBA session purposes.

Issues of the month

From survey responses, there are some things for Club members to think about.

  • Should we have an extra round of bridge rather than a coffee break on Thursday mornings?
  • Should we have a novice section on Thursday mornings?
  • Should we commence at 9.30am on Friday mornings?
  • Should we have a novice section on Friday mornings?

Novice sections would have a master point limit, and only green systems would be played in these sections.

Think about these questions and discuss them with your friends. We’ll either ask for a show of hands on Thursday mornings, or put a question on the web site (or both) over the next few weeks. [Note: These questions are now online here]

In the mean time

Happy Bridging

Julie Rhodes

TBA President

2019 Tasmanian Festival of Bridge

The 2019 Tasmanian Festival of Bridge was held at Wrest Point Casino Hotel in Hobart from 28th to 31st March 2019

There were a record number of participants with 140 pairs competing in the premier event, the TBIB Australian Swiss Pairs. 86 pairs contested the Roger Penny Senior Swiss Pairs, 62 pairs in the TFOB Restricted Swiss Pairs and 16 pairs in the Island Matchpointed Swiss Pairs.

TBIB Australian Swiss Pairs Winners David Beauchamp and Jodi Tutty

TFOB Restricted Swiss Pairs Winners Jack Foreman and Bob Ransom

Roger Penny Seniors' Swiss Pairs Winners Phil Gue and Nigel Rosendorff with TBA President Julie Rhodes

Warren Walker Memorial Prize winners Rob and Jane Tyson with Sue Thompson-Walker. This prize, donated by Sue, is for the best placed Tasmanian Pair in the TBIB Australian Swiss Pairs.

Go to the Tournament Website for more information and results.

2020 Tasmanian Festival of Bridge

The 2020 Tasmanian Festival of Bridge will be at a new venue, the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Launceston. The Festival will run from Thursday 26th March to Sunday 29th March 2020.

The Role of the TBA

The TBA is is the largest bridge club in the state with about 400 members and is the administrative body for the game of bridge in Tasmania. The TBA is responsible for running national and state events including the Australian Swiss Pairs championships and the Roger Penny Senior Swiss Pairs competition. These are conducted annually with the venue alternating between Hobart and Launceston. The TBA also administers the Masterpoints system for the ABF and endeavours to promote the growth and teaching of bridge throughout Tasmania via its affiliated clubs. The TBA's purpose-designed Centre at 5 Marine Esplanade, New Town Bay serves as both our local Clubrooms and the headquarters for bridge in the state.

Local Tasmanian clubs affiliated with the TBA are:
North-West North South
Burnie Bridge Club Launceston Bridge Club Hobart City Bridge Club
Devonport Bridge Club Tamar Bridge Club Eastern Shore Bridge Club
Ulverstone Bridge Club Kingborough Bridge Club

Contact us:
Phone: 0400 492 327
Post: PO Box171, North Hobart 7002

Bank Account Details for direct debit: BSB: 067-102 A/C #: 2801 2004 A/C Name: Tasmanian Bridge Association
ABN: 66 028 130 967

Click here to find us on Google maps.

(C) Altosoft and Tasmanian Bridge Association Bridge Association 2019
Site template developed by Peter Busch, Altosoft
and content managed by Tasmanian Bridge Association Bridge Association 
Current visitors: 395

Click here for Management log-in